1. Food

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

FoodSaver® Advanced Design V2860 Vacuum Sealer

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Horrible itemMay 21, 2013 By cdf07
I bought the V3465 model first, and it lasted for about a month before it stopped sealing. Then I tried the Gamesaver version, since it advertised to be ""Heavy-Duty"". Same results. I will never buy another of any version of this product again.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
The worst, serisously, the worst.November 20, 2011 By Misha419
Never vacuumed well so I have tinkered with it, read blogs, fix it columns, the manufacturers web site (worthless) and nothing worked well. Finally today the thing worked (poorly) and now seals the bags really well will lots of air in it. You need to get your head examined if you buy this product or more accurately, you will need to have it examined after using it. I have a bunch of meat in the freezer inside their bags but wrapped in saran wrap because I can seal the bag better than this expensive piece of junk can. If I could give it negative 5 stars I would.
80 of 98 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Nothing but trouble...October 02, 2011 By rickwendy
We have tried Foodsaver sealer's for several years now. Each year we get out the machine and it doesn't work anymore. We've returned them on warranty each year and received the new, best model. This year again, our Foodsaver isn't working. It seals about 4 bags properly and then the vacuum stops working. It pumps but doesn't evacuate the bag so you end up with a sloppy bag. Might as well just use ZipLock bags. So, back to the store again and hope our warranty is still valid. These things are junk as far as I'm concerned.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
foodsaver V3840November 03, 2010 By masterofone
the V3840 is excellent. I got the extra box of rolls as well. i make sure i have lots of bag so i dont have moisture getting sucked into the unit ( i use 4 lines of the roll for two pieces of smoked fish). for the pic above i may use a strip of paper towel but not too thick to stop any moisture from the moist food getting past the seal area and into the unit. this 3840 unit works automatically but can be stoped if one sees the moisture getting too close to the top. to make a bag i cut off 4 lines from the roll and push the seal button and then feed the cut off portion to seal the bottom and it works great; it recommends waiting 20 seconds between each sealing so it does not get overheated, so i do one at a time, which is fine. love the fact it has a marination unit too. this is worth every penny and works easy; just be careful and watch what you are doing;
29 of 35 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bag WasterOctober 24, 2010 By reggiepayte
Not only did the company really miss the mark with their new line, but the excessive waste, if you can sucessfully get a bag to seal, is very costly. With the price of bags, consider you will waste at least 2 inches on every vacuumed project. That is if you want to spend the time getting it to work. I went back to the old one I had and saved lots of time and who cares if I have to ""hold er down"" to make it work. Oh well the new one looks impressiv on the counter.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Read the instructionsSeptember 03, 2010 By messaiiina
Seriously, this isn't hard, people. We love our Foodsaver and use it almost daily. Most of the problems I've read here of people having is just common sense. After going through 5 Foodsavers because you ruin the machine by drawing liquid into it, you could read the nifty little booklet they sent with it saying that you should freeze liquids in the bags for a few hours before sealing. Presto ! Problem solved. It's a great machine and we've saved a ton of money using it. I really hate to think others will be put off of buying this because of undeserved bad reviews.
32 of 35 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I am on my 5th modelMay 25, 2010 By lenkerb
they simply do not last. We learned over the years not to vacuum moist items as the liquid gets into the vacuum causing it to stop working. We taken the units apart and have cleared all hoses. Still the vacuum doesn't work. I think it is because of a low quality diaphragm. Some of our units failed to seal because the sealing bar fails!The idea is good but be prepared to replace the unit often!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
model V3460 Bag SealerMay 24, 2010 By dapamasama
I would not ever buy another food saver. It does not work all the time. It is the most frustrating piece of equipment I have ever purchased. We even checked before we purchased this model thinking we were buying quality. It is not a cheep machine either. We feel completely taken. The fact that the machine does not work, (only when some magic happens) it is also a colossal waste of bags. Why should you have to waste that much space to seal is unbelievable. We had a older machine for many years and it just plain wore out. Don't buy this machine.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
GarbageJanuary 23, 2010 By mykachina
I've had mine for a couple of years - it might make a seal or vacuum about every third use-just whenever it is in the mood. Very frustrating-I tell everyone I would NOT recommend their product - and especially when they don't stand behind it. I hate gambling on whether it will work ""this time"" or not when I have a job to do. Will definitely junk it and buy the competition.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great but earlier conainers leakDecember 10, 2009 By Chuckles107
The machine itself works great. One major frustration we've experienced is that some of the older canisters do not hold their vacumn after being in use for 6 months or so. I've had to epoxy the cracks in the bottom of the container.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Frustration AlleyOctober 28, 2009 By bldumcum
We bought a new FoodSaver machine to replace an older one that finally wore out. What a disaster! It is the most aggravating appliance we have ever tried to use. We contacted the company about returning it and they gave some suggestions on making the machine work more frequently. Wrong! In spite of their video, you cannot put the bag squarely into the machine. You have to put in one corner first and then t-w-i-s-t the bag into place. That is supposed to help. Wrong again! On average, every third bag fails to evacuate correctly. And, after failing to remove the air from the bag, if you don't hit the cancel button fast enough, the bag seals and you have to cut off the bag and try again. Each seal wastes 2 - 3 inches of every bag which makes for better bag sales for the FoodSaver people. We have finally given up and are looking to buy a Seal-A-Meal or some other brand of sealer machine. It doesn't have to have the fancy FoodSaver look but it can only be much more reliable (and less frustrating) to use than our current one. We would never buy another FoodSaver. We gave it a one star rating only because we couldn't give a minus rating.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
V2490 JunkSeptember 14, 2009 By Murchison
They are junk. Have had 2 V2490 and with both units the motor mounts broke. The first one came with motor mounts broke. The replacement unite broke in 3 months or so with light use We took it apart to see what was wrong and Foodsaver would not cover it under warranty. After talking to a very nice supervisor she said would ship a new one. But it was of lesser value and quality. I refusedů..
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.