Passover Seder HistoryPassover celebrates the exodus of the Israelites from Egypt. During the Seder (meaning order in Hebrew) banquet, the Haggadah is read which reenacts the journey. Food is a very important part of the celebration, with different foods representing historical events.
During the Passover week, only unleavened bread or matzoh is permissible. The bar against leavened (chametz in Hebrew) foods applies only to these five types of grain: barley, wheat, rye, oats, and spelt. Although wine is fermented, it is permitted, since it is not derived from any of these five types of grains. Food items made from these grains may be eaten only if they are cooked before the leavening process begins, a matter of time deemed to be some eighteen minutes from the time they are mixed with water.
Commercial foods which are kosher for Passover will have a (P) or (U)Kosher for Passover incorporated into their labeling, which indicates the product has been certified by a rabbi or organization authorized to give the Passover endorsement.
Further Passover References:
• Traditional Passover Seder Foods
• Passover Recipes
|•||Jewish Cooking in America|
|•||The New York Times Passover Cookbook|
|•||The Complete Passover Cookbook|
|•||Passover Lite Kosher Cookbook|